RT MediaMogul - шаблон joomla Авто
political puzzle PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 20 May 2014 12:03

Doug LaFreniere starts a political carousel when he announces he will not seek re-election as Seward County District 4 Commissoner at the same time Tammy Sutherland-Abbott resigns school board seat, and Nathan McCaffrey files to replace LaFreniere. Will Sutherland-Abbott challenge McCaffrey?


LaFreniere will not seek re-election


• Leader & Times


A few seats are up for grabs on the Seward County Commission this election year, and as of Monday night, one more became available.

During the commission comments portion of Monday’s meeting, Doug LaFreniere announced he would not be seeking another term on the board.

LaFreniere said he had been contacted by some people inquiring as to whether he would refile.

“I’ve come to the decision,” he said. “I will not be refiling for election. It’s kind of a wonderful experience. I have a passion and a genuine concern, and it’s for the people who basically get up and go to work every day. I think we all do.”

After asking himself if he could help the people of Seward County, LaFreniere said he believed that with local current events, he could not do so.

“I don’t think this position allows it, so rather than to linger on, if I can’t help, I just don’t want to hurt them,” he said. “I will not seek re-election in District 4. The seat will be open.”



Sutherland-Abbott resigns from school board

• L&T staff report

After serving 10 years on the USD No. 480 School Board, Tammy Sutherland-Abbott announced that she will resign her position on the school board effective June 1.

There will not be another school board meeting prior to that date, which means she has effectively completed her duties as a school board member.

Sutherland-Abbott, who currently resides just south of South Middle School, is moving to a country home in the far northwest corner of Seward County which is expected to lie just outside of the USD No. 480 district.

Highlights during Sutherland-Abbott’s time on the school board included her vote to renovate Redskin Field in 2009 after a bond attempt failed. However, the voters exonerated her by supporting her re-election in 2011.

There has also been speculation that Sutherland-Abbott may seek Doug LaFreniere’s seat on the Seward County Commission now that he has announced he will not seek re-election.

A phone call to discuss the issue earlier this morning was not returned.



McCaffrey files to run

• Seward County Clerk’s Office

Nathan McCaffrey, Republican, has filed for the Seward County Commission District 4 position, according to a release from the Seward County Clerk’s office.

Filings to date include Ada Linenbroker, Republican incumbent, for the Seward County Commission District 2 position, Randy Malin, Republican incumbent, for the Seward County Commission District 3, Monalicia Arredondo, Republican, Commission District 2 and Gladis Gomez-Fornwalt, Republican, for the Seward County Commission District 3 position.

Today I desire have to you in the form in which it was needed to go into has already been given viagra for sale is a identity selection of each person buy viagra must take every man without help.




About The High Plains Daily Leader

The High Plains Daily Leader and Southwest Daily Times are published Sunday through Friday and reaches homes throughout the Liberal, Kansas retail trade zone. The Leader & Times is the official newspaper of Seward County, USD No. 480, USD No. 483 and the cities of Liberal and Kismet.  The Leader & Times is a member of the Liberal Chamber of Commerce, the Kansas Press Association and the Associated Press.

For more, contact us.


Get the Daily Leader delivered to your home for $101.45 per year in Liberal, or $140 outside Liberal. Call 620-626-0840 for a subscription today. You can receive the print edition or an electronic edition! To subscribe today, email circulation@hpleader.com.

RocketTheme Joomla Templates