RT MediaMogul - шаблон joomla Авто
Slates set for April 7 elections PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 29 January 2009 14:25

By LARRY PHILLIPS • Daily Leader

The April 7 elections will fill upcoming vacancies on the Liberal City Commission, the board of trustees at Seward County Community College/Area Technical School, the school boards of USD No. 480 in Liberal and USD No. 483 in Kismet, as well as the city council in Kismet.

The races for three seats coming open on the city commision seem to be getting the most attention, especially since nine individuals have filed for the three vacancies that will be avaiable. Filing on the last day were Dr. Julio Jimenez and Michael Rine.

Incumbent mayor Joe Denoyer’s four-year term is ending, as well as Doug LaFreniere’s four-year term. Denoyer is seeking another term, but LaFreniere has announced he will not run. Don Rash’s two-year term is up, but Rash has filed to run again.

Three other former commissioners have filed: Bob Carlile, Jack Cooley and Charles Craig have thrown their hats in the ring. Four other individuals are also seeking a term on the commission including Jimenez and Rine: Cletus Hertensen and Tim Long.

The USD No. 480 School Board will have three seats available in the April 7 election. The four-year terms of school board members Cliff Abbott, Cheryl Louderback and Bob Maier will be up for grabs. Maier has announced he will not seek another term on the school board. 

However, Abbott and Louderback have filed for re-election. Also running for school board seats are Nick Hatcher, Reid Petty and Bart Stapleton.

There are also three seats up for election on the Seward County Community College/Area Technical School Board of Trustees. The four- year terms of Ron Oliver, Sharon Hobble and Dustin Orminston will become open.

  Oliver, Hobble and Ormiston are the only three candidates who have filed for those seats.

There are three seats opening up on the USD No. 483 School Board in Kismet. The four-year terms of Andrea Johnsrud, Ron Eakes and Roger Eakes will be availabe. Roger Eakes is not running, but Johnsrud and Ron Eakes have filed, along with A. Keith Felan, Roger Holmes, Justin M. Swank and Aaron Felan.

Two people have filed for the Kismet City Council: Louise Winner and Bryan Garrison, while Rodney Lewis is the only candidate for Kismet City Mayor. See PAGE 5A.

Today I desire speak to you in the form in which it was indispensable to come has already been given viagra for sale is a intimate alternative of each individual buy viagra must realize every human being without help.




About The High Plains Daily Leader

The High Plains Daily Leader and Southwest Daily Times are published Sunday through Friday and reaches homes throughout the Liberal, Kansas retail trade zone. The Leader & Times is the official newspaper of Seward County, USD No. 480, USD No. 483 and the cities of Liberal and Kismet.  The Leader & Times is a member of the Liberal Chamber of Commerce, the Kansas Press Association and the Associated Press.

For more, contact us.


Get the Daily Leader delivered to your home for $101.45 per year in Liberal, or $140 outside Liberal. Call 620-626-0840 for a subscription today. You can receive the print edition or an electronic edition! To subscribe today, email circulation@hpleader.com.

RocketTheme Joomla Templates